14 apply for ETHS Board vacancy


Fourteen persons have applied to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of William Geiger from the Evanston Township High School District 202 Board as of the 5 p.m. Friday deadline.

At least two of the candidates—Anne Sills and Andrew Bezaitis—are former candidates. Sills ran this year and Bezaitis in 2013.

The remaining 12, according to Board Secretary and ETHS chief financial officer William Stafford, are:

Betsi Burns, Elissa Bassler,  Russell Kohnken, Carl Brownell, Mindy Wallis, David TerMolen, Karen Larkin, Liliana Barro Zecker,  Maureen Kenney, John Berkley, Patricia Maunsell, and Andrew Schultz.

Under state law, the board is obligated to find a replacement within 45 days after Geiger submitted his resignation on May 27.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio stations and business-oriented magazines.

Editors’ Picks