Evanston Township High School released Thursday the names of 15 seniors selected as semifinalists for the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program.

They are among about 16,000 students nationwide who are on track to compete next spring for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million.

To be considered for the top award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements in addition to the detailed scholarship application already submitted that demonstrates an outstanding academic record throughout high school and an endorsement by a high school official.

The ETHS semifinalists are: Elizabeth Apley, Samuel Bergman, Joseph Chafetz, Paul Clarke, Holly Cunningham, Elisabeth Finkel, Evan Franchere, Nadia Goldberg, Isabella Green, Gabriel Hull, Alec Jacobson, Hayley Latko, Allison Neggers, Abigail Stein, and Keziah Yarnoff.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.