Twenty-one seniors from Evanston Township High School have been named semifinalists for the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program.

The ETHS semifinalists are: Benedict Q. Brady, Luke T. Calian, Evan M. Carter, Emma F. Chanen, Abigail R. Conier, Benjamin A. Founy, Ezra C. Garfield, Elijah A. Goering, Conrad E. Gordon, Noah J. Kanter, Rachel S. Kornbluh, Justin Liao, Emma H. Maxwell, Caroline A. McCance, Henry McDonald, John C. Muyres, Alyssa J. Nichols, Mildred J. Rosen, Logan Z. Stuart, Harry K. Thornton, Nathan Umbanhowar.

“Being recognized as a semifinalist is one of the highest recognitions a student in our nation can achieve. This is a notable accomplishment,”said ETHS District 202 Superintendent Eric Witherspoon. “I am so proud of our student scholars, and so proud that we have such an impressive number of semifinalists, another reminder of the high caliber of academics here at ETHS.”

About 16,000 high school students from across the U.S. were named as semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). According to NMSC, semifinalists and their schools must submit a detailed scholarship application that demonstrates an outstanding academic record throughout high school and endorsement by a high school official.

Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million, to be offered next spring. To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *