Twenty-eight candidates have filed nominating papers to run for 11 Evanston municipal offices in next year’s election.

With three candidates running for mayor, a primary election will be held for that office on Feb. 23, because a local referendum approved in 1992 requires a mayoral primary when there are more than two candidates. That referendum addressed only the mayor’s race.

Other media have quoted City Clerk Devon Reid as saying there will also be a primary in the 5th Ward, where four candidates are running.

But that statement appears to be at variance with state law. The Illinois Municipal Code, 65 ILCS 5/3.1-20-45, calls for skipping a primary in a nonpartisan municipal election “when not more than 4 persons” are running.

Four candidates also appear to be seeking office in the 8th Ward.

But one, Shelley Carrillo, failed to specify in her nominating papers which aldermanic seat she is seeking. Carrillo lives in the 8th Ward and circulated her petitions among 8th Ward residents, but the failure to specify the ward on the nominating papers could lead to a challenge over whether her name should be placed on the ballot.

Nov. 30 is the last day to file objections to a candidate’s nominating papers.

The candidates for mayor are:

The candidates for city clerk are:

  • Former Alderman Jane Grover, and
  • Political activist Stephanie Mendoza.

    In the 1st Ward incumbent Alderman Judy Fiske will face a challenge from Clare Kelly.

    In the 2nd Ward, incumbent Peter Braithwaite is being challenged by Darlene Cannon.

    In the 3rd Ward, incumbent Melissa Wynne faces two challengers, Nicholas Korzeniowski and restaurateur Eric Young.

    In the 4th Ward, incumbent Don Wilson faces two challengers, Diane Goldring and Jonathan Nieuwsma.

    In the 5th Ward, where incumbent Robin Rue Simmons is not seeking re-election, the candidates are Bobby Burns, Tina Foster, Carolyn Murray and Rebeca Mendoza.

    In the 6th Ward, incumbent Tom Suffredin is being challenged by Katherine Trippi.

    In the 7th Ward, incumbent Eleanor Revelle will face Mary Rosinski.

    In the 8th Ward, incumbent Ann Rainey has three challengers, Shelley Carrillo, Matthew Mitchell and Devon Reid.

    In the 9th Ward, incumbent Cicely Fleming is running unopposed.

    The general election is scheduled to be held April 6.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *