Of Evanston’s two school districts, only board candidates in District 65 will face competition at the polls this spring.

Five candidates will compete for four seats on the elementary school board.

The incumbents include board vice-president Jerome Summers of 1941 Hartrey Ave., first elected in 2005, and Andrew Pigozzi of 1018 Elmwood Ave., who was appointed to the board in 2007 after narrowly losing election in 2005.

New candidates include Tracy Quattrocki of 1220 Hinman Ave., a past president of the Dewey School PTA; Kim Weaver of 2003 Maple Ave., and Christopher Hawker of 2147 Ewing Ave., a science teacher at Niles West High School and parent at Lincolnwood School.

A sixth candidate, Carolyn Laughlin, filed nominating petitions Monday but withdrew them this morning.

At Evanston Township High School, the four candidates include two incumbents — the board’s president, Martha Burns of 2527 Jackson Ave., who’s served eight years, and the board’s vice-president, Rachel Hayman of 2400 Harrison St. who’s completing four years on the board.

The new ETHS board candidates are Deborah Graham of 2762 Woodbine Ave., who’s co-president of the ETHS Parent-Teacher-Student Association, and Gretchen Livingston of 2320 Forestview Ave., who’s on the board of the Democratic Party of Evanston.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *