Evanston Township High School hosted the 22nd annual African-American Youth Achievement Awards on Feb. 7 to honor 38 African-American students from ETHS and District 65, recognizing their daily actions that pay homage to the visions and legacy of African-American pioneers.

2019 AAYA recipients

Evanston Township High School

  • Lys Acacia
  • Beyonce Bailey
  • Dystonae Clark
  • Demarcus Dennison
  • Donald Gibbs
  • Darius Johnson
  • Sarah Parisien
  • Elisa Walker

Middle Schools


  • William Campbell
  • Ava Moseley


  • Jahvar Quire
  • Ariana Williams


  • Tyler Shaun Alexander
  • Sadaya Deeble

District 65 Elementary and Magnet Schools

Bessie Rhodes

  • Olaitan Dada
  • Cecily Jordan


  • Noah Nelson
  • Hani Ramos


  • Teshawna Rhaburn
  • Arnon Timms    

King Arts

  • Tyler Dobson
  • Shaneil Henderson


  • Abdul Ouedraogo
  • Kayla Strickland


  • Anna Iwuagwu
  • Carter McIntosh


  • Dylan Quire
  • Rhiana Ruddock


  • Cross Mitchell
  • Elyse Pinckney


  • Jakyra Lockhart
  • Edouard Josef Millner


  • Ethan Carpenter
  • Skylar Lomax


  • Ashlee Murray
  • Billy Price


  • Eleanor Ghogomu
  • Micah Smith

As part of the AAYA program, the Living Legend-Trailblazer Award honors African-American Evanstonians for their leadership and community contributions that encourage and inspire African-American youth. The 2019 recipient of the Living Legend-Trailblazer Award is Hecky Powell, founder and owner of Hecky’s Barbecue.

The AAYA program is part of a Black History Month initiative and was sponsored by the Ivy Pearl Foundation, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Delta Chi Omega Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., Evanston North Shore Alumnae Chapter, Family Focus Evanston, Dr. Gilo Kwesi Logan, The Joe “Butch” Martin Fund, Northwestern University, McGaw YMCA, NAACP, Omega Pi Zeta of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., Shorefront and Gerri Sizemore, in conjunction with Evanston/Skokie School District 65 and Evanston Township High School District 202.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *