Nominations are being solicited for Evanston’s  2017 Aging Well Award.

The honor, to be bestowed on an Evanstonian who has made an impact on the community through his or her interest in aging, will be presented at the Evanston Aging Well Conference on Friday, May 5, at the Levy Center.

Nominations should be submitted by Tuesday, March 7.

All nominees will be critiqued on both outstanding personal acts and/or community impact. The nominee may have impacted the community and improved the quality of the lives of older adults through outstanding leadership as well as the application of time, resources, or advocacy.

The Evanston Aging Well Conference Planning Committee will select the honoree at its committee meeting on Thursday, March 16.


Previous winners include former Mayor Lorraine H. Morton, Father Robert Oldershaw, William Logan, Julia Hagwood, Gerri Sizemore, and Ellen Butkus.

The free half-day conference in  May provides strategies for healthy aging for older adults, their families, caregivers, and professionals.

The conference includes a continental breakfast and a choice of two workshops. Space is limited to 175 attendees. Registration for the event will open in March 2017.

The nomination form can be completed online.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.