Evanston senior football standout  Michael Axelrood  has been selected as Offensive Player of the Year according to a vote by coaches in the Central Suburban League South division.

Axelrood, a wide receiver/safety, is one of eight Wildkits named to the all-conference squad from ETHS. Also named were senior quarterback Ben Tarpey, senior running back/defensive back Malik Ross, senior center Sawyer Brown, senior lineman Egan Schliesmann, senior defensive back Gerrad Lamour, senior defensive lineman Danny White, and senior defensive back Trenton Bertrand.

Axelrood, a 6-foot-3, 195-pounder, caught 51 passes for  844 yards and 11 touchdowns to help the Wildkits earn the program’s best regular season record since 1998 in his third season as a varsity starter. He has received at least 20 Division I offers to play college football and owns the ETHS career records for receptions (93), yards receiving (1,371) and receiving touchdowns (22).

Axelrood also ranked in the top three in total tackles for the Wildkits in all three years as a defensive standout.

Tarpey, in his first season as a varsity starter, became the first QB in school history to pass for more than 2,000 yards in a single season. He completed 137 of 240 passing attempts for 2,027 yards and 18 touchdowns as a senior.

Dennis Mahoney

Dennis Mahoney is sports information director for Evanston Township High School.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.