Big field in place for ETHS board election

With just over a week left before the filing deadline, eight candidates have filed to run for four seats on the Evanston Township High School board.

They include two incumbents — Deborah Graham and Gretchen Livingston — and six challengers — Elena Garcia Ansani, Andrew Bezaitis, Bill Geiger, Doug Holt, Casey Miller and Patricia Savage-Williams.

Incumbents  Martha Burns and Rachel Hayman have taken out petitions but not yet filed them. They, and any other candidates seeking the unpaid school board positions, have until 5 p.m. Dec. 26 to file petitions at the district's business office.

Garcia Ansani is a board member of the Evanston Coalition for Latino Resources and a doctoral student at National Louis University.

Bezaitis is chief operating officer of CellTrak Technologies

Geiger is the retired CEO of the McGaw YMCA.

Holt was a member of a panel named to review the District 65 budget last year.

Miller is a coach with the Evanston Baseball Softball Association.

Savage-Williams is a special education coordinator at New Trier High School.

So far just enough candidates have filed to fill the ballot for the Evanston/Skokie School District 65 election.

They include Candance Chow, who runs her own consulting business;  Peter Kaplan, a senior manager with Deloitte & Touche and member of Evanston's Community Emergency Response Team, and Claudia Garrison, a teacher at Haven Middle School.

The only District 65 incumbent to file for re-election so far is Tracy Quattrocki. Two other incumbents,  Andrew Pigozzi and Kim Weaver, have taken out petitions. They and any additional challengers will have until 5 p.m. Dec. 26 to file petitions with the school board secretary, Pat Markham. 

Editors’ Picks