Marriage Equality Champions to be Honored at DPOE Annual Dinner

The Democratic Party of Evanston will honor state legislators who have led the crusade for marriage equality in Illinois at its Annual Award Dinner on Sunday, Nov. 10.

U.S. Rep. Jan Schakowsky will present awards to State Reps. Kelly Cassidy and Greg Harris and State Sen. Heather Steans for their efforts to promote the Religious Freedom and Marriage Fairness Act, which has passed the Illinois Senate but has not been called for a vote in the House.

“DPOE  is proud to honor our local state legislators who have fought tirelessly to bring marriage equality to the top of the legislative agenda,” said DPOE President Brian Miller.  “This year’s award ceremony is particularly meaningful because victory on this issue is finally within sight.”

Local civil rights advocate Fay Clayton will also be honored with the Abner Mikva Award for her lifetime commitment to advancing and protecting the rights and opportunities afforded to all Americans. And Judith Treadway, District 65 parent advocate/liaison, will receive the Community Achievement Award for her committment to education and families.

In addition Jan Shakowsky, the event will be attended by elected officials including State Sen. Daniel Biss and State Reps. Robyn Gabel and Laura Fine as well as numerous legislative and judicial candidates.

It is the Democratic Party of Evanston's most important fundraising annual event.ensuring that the leading local office for President Obana's re-election with over 1,100 volunteers making phone calls, buttons and trips to Iowa and Wisconsin will continue its important work on behalf of Democratic legislators, candidates and progressive causes throughout the year.

The dinner starts at 6 p.m. at the new Skylight Event Space, 1818 Dempster St. The dinner will feature cuisine from local restaurants Koi, Hecky's, Taco Diablo, and Olive Mountain. Tickets start at $125 per person.

Full information and payment options on