District 65's blog

Nichols chess team scores

Members of the Nichols School Chess Team participated in the Illinois Scholastic All Grades Tournament on November 3rd in Bloomington-Normal.

Of the possible three team trophies and ten individual trophies per grade, Nichols 8th grade team received a first place for grade and three individual trophies.  Team score were determined by the total for the top three finishers with a minimum of two players from same school and grade.

D65 lands state pre-school grants

District 65 has received state board of education grants totaling more than $300,000 for Prevention Initiative and Preschool for All programs.

The funds will let the district serve up to 65 more families with pre-school age children.

High quality early childhood education is recognized as one step in helping reduce the achievement gap for young children at risk of failure, Superintendent Murphy said, praising the district's staff for pursuing the external funding despite grant restrictions that "sometimes challenge those who have to manage the programs."

Rhodes kids get eco-grants

The upper grades at Rhodes Magnet School are thinking green.

On Sept. 13, Fine Arts Teacher Mary Beth Koszut and Tech Arts Teacher Sherri Polaniecki sponsored "Energy Day" to introduce students to a $10,000 grant awarded to the school by British Petroleum to promote education of energy and energy conservation.

D65 reviews assignment policies

On Monday, July 18, the District 65 Board of Education was joined by its school attorney to review the impact of the June 28 Supreme Court finding unconstitutional two voluntarily adopted school diversity plans that relied upon race to assign students to public schools.

In light of this decision, the board, administration and school attorney reviewed existing District 65 policies and procedures for magnet school, magnet program and permissive transfer selections.

Following is a summary of facts and agreements:

Oakton gets interim principal

Oakton Elementary School, located at 436 Ridge Ave., welcomes Churchill Daniels who is the newly appointed interim principal, and Beatrice Davis who will assume the interim vice-principal position.

Mr. Daniels has been vice-principal at Oakton since 2004. He holds a master of science in educational leadership degree from National-Louis University. Mr. Daniels earned a bachelor of science in education degree from Illinois State University with a focus in middle-level education, and endorsements in language arts, reading, social studies, and Spanish.

Foundation 65 awards school grants

The District 65 educational foundation has awarded 18 grants to teachers and schools who applied for 2007 Educator Grants.

In addition to the Educator Grant Program, Foundation 65 continues to support a third summer of the Summer Reading Program, which supports over 50 struggling first graders as they transition to second grade.  The Foundation has committed funds of up to $15,000 for this project.

District 65 names new principals

Evanston/Skokie School District 65 has named new principals for Orrington School and Park School.J. Michael Dougherty, the new principal at Orrington, brings more than 15 years experience as a school administrator, recently serving as principal of the Germantown Hills School in Metramora, Ill.

Wynn Fund honors 4th graders

The Justin Wynn Memorial Fund celebrates and honors youth leaders of Evanston. The fund was started when Justin Wynn died in an accident in 1987 at the age of nine. Justin exemplified the qualities of leadership, citizenship, and sportsmanship. Though he was a well-rounded person and an all-sport athlete, Justin had a special love for soccer.

State grant to improve school air quality

Evanston/Skokie School District 65 has been awarded a $1 million grant to address indoor air quality issues at the district's 16 schools.The grant is scheduled to be formally announced by State Senator Jeff Schoenberg at a news conference at Haven Middle School at 8:30 a.m.

Nichols honor roll

Principal Gordon Hood has announced the second term honor roll for Nichols Middle School.Grade SixMazzin Ajamia, William Bailey, Allison Bielawski, Justin Bishop, Marc Bouchet, Max Boyce,Angelina Brady, Eliana Chavkin, Desmond Cleland, Afiniti Clifton-Kimmons, Shoshanna Coalson,Jennifer Conley, Bethany Cooper, Nevin Cunningham, Klara Debeljak, Henry Doyle, Serena Dully, Katherine Eddy, Lauren Fink, Moriah Foronda, Koren Fowler, William Foydel, Zoe Friedland, Emma Gailey, Asha Gangolli, Dora Garcia, Ruby Garcia, Daren Gardner, Rhea Gerberick, Simon Gratch, Shakiir Greaves, A