Burns takes office as OCC trustee


Martha Burns of Evanston was sworn in as a newly elected member of the Oakton Community College board at a special meeting Tuesday evening.

Burns previously served 12 years on the Evanston Township High School board.

“I want to thank the voters for electing me the board,” Burns said. “I am honored to be a part of the Oakton family and community, and I’m available to anyone in the district who wants to have a conversation with me.”

The board’s other newly elected member, Paul Kotowski of Skokie, was also sworn in at Tuesday’s meeting.

And board members chose Bill Stafford of Evanston as chair, Joan W. DiLeonardi of Des Plaines as vice-chair  and Benjamin Salzberg of Northbrook as secretary.

Editors’ Picks