The Evanston Chamber of Commerce honored four community leaders at its annual meeting this week and introduced its new executive director.

Receiving awards at the Wednesday night event in the Grand Ballroom of the Hilton Orrington Hotel were:

  • Bill Geiger, president and CEO of the McGaw YMCA, and winner of the NorthShore University HealthSystems Public Service/Nonprofit Person of the Year Award.
  • Sara Schastok, president and CEO of the Evanston Community Foundation, and winner of the Brown Kaplan + Liss Community Leadership Award.
  • Frank Muns and Kyle Kurz, co-owners of Allegra Design, Print & Signs, and winners of the North Shore Community Bank & Trust Small Businessperson of the Year Award 

Chamber Executive Director Eve Doi with Evanston Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl.

The chamber’s new executive director, Eve Doi, who officially starts work next Monday, was also at the session to start networking with chamber members.

Top photo: Award winners Bill Geiger, Sara Schastok, Frank Muns and Kyle Kurz. (Photos by Genie Lemieux Jordan, Evanston Photographic Studios.)

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *