The Chessmen Club of the North Shore’s 58th annual Community Service Awards Dinner will honor Infrastructure Engineering President Michael Sutton and four women who’ve been leaders of the local NAACP.

Sutton, a civil engineering graduate of Northwestern University, is a key supporter of the Evanston Township High School junior chapter of the National Society of Black Engineers and sponsors an annual Chrtistmas HOPE Toy Givaway for deserving families in the area.

Leona Harmon, Katherine Bridges, Theola Murphy and Elsie Liddell.

The four women — Katherine Bridges, Leona Harmon, Elsie Liddell and Theola Murphy — have been activists with the Evanston branche of the NAACP for decades. They’ve served on the group’s executive committee and, working as election judges and voter registrars, they’ve helped community members exercise their right to vote.

The dinner will be held at 6 p.m. on Saturday, March 19, at the Hilton Orrington Hotel, 1710 Orrington Ave..

“This annual event honors those who have made extraordinary contributions to Evanston’s Black Community,” said Adrian Brewington, Chessmen
president. “It’s also a way for our members and friends to come together, have fun and raise money to support our mission of serving local families.”

The Chessmen Club was founded in 1958 and is a volunteer run, non-profit organization that returns 95 percent of all funds raised back into the community. It has awarded over $500,000 in scholarships to local students, allowing them to continue their academic and career pursuits.

The Club also helps feed over 350 families in the community through its food basket program and supports other community youth activities, such as the Fellowship of Afro-American Men youth basketball league.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.