Evanston aldermen Monday are scheduled to vote to name a building at the city’s water plant for retiring Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl.

Tisdahl, who was instrumental in the city’s plan to raise new revenue by expanding the city’s water service to additional communities, will preside for the last time at Monday’s City Council meeting.

The mayor, who was also instrumental in improving relations with Northwestern University, wearing an NU cap at a Paint-It-Purple pep rally in 2011.

She’s served two four-year terms as mayor and previously spent six years as 7th Ward alderman. Before that she served on the Evanston Township High School board for 12 years.

Over the past few years the Council named the Civic Center and the center’s Council Chambers and Aldermanic Library for Tisdahl’s three immediate predecessors as mayor.

The resolution says the 1963 Water Filtration Building within the portion of the water plant that’s located at 555 Lincoln St. will get the Tisdahl name.

Recently signed agreements with Morton Grove and Niles are expect to bring Evanston nearly $70 million in net new revenue over the next 40 years. The city also is renegotiating its water sales agreement with Skokie and anticipates signing one with Lincolnwood as well.

The water sales deals were made possible after Chicago dramatically raised the rates it charges its suburban customers.

At what’s expected to be a largely ceremonial meeting at 6 p.m., the Council is also expected to approve resolutions praising three retiring aldermen — Delores Holmes, Brian Miller and Mark Tendam — as well as retiring City Clerk Rodney Greene.

The Council also has on its agenda a vote on the 831 Emerson St. planned development project, but it’s believed action on that will be postponed until the first regular meeting of the newly elected City Council on May 22.

Members of the newly-elected 80th City Council are scheduled to be sworn in during their ceremonial first meeting at 7 p.m. Monday along with the new mayor, Steve Hagerty, and the new city clerk, Devon Reid.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Join the Conversation


  1. More symbolic [and costly?] naming
    And what is the cost for signs, documents and such ?
    The city [Council] seems to love to re-name buildings for themselves.
    They celebrate themselves while raising taxes and making give-a-ways to businesses they pick as “winners.”

    1. bummer

      I know that you were hoping it would be named the Guest (not verified) Water Filtration Building so this one stings a bit. Be comforted that we are all grateful for your service. 

    2. What is the cost for signs, documents and such ?

      Dear Guest (not verified),

      Take a moment to appreciate the “cost” of being the Mayor of Evanston… Your comments illustrate the thankless nature of the (largely) volunteer spirit in which one undertakes a very rigorous assignment for public service.  I wish it were possible to honor Mayor Tisdahl with a monument to her hard work and perseverence balancing all the stakeholders needs in Evanston…

      We are lucky to have such dedicated and thoughtful civic leaders in our community willing to undertake these tasks for pittance.

      Respectfully, Brian G. Becharas

  2. Naming of water plant

    I would guess the mayor is pumped about the naming opportunity. It acknowledges her management of city’s liquid assets. 

    1. Honoring Mayor Tisdahl

      Much, much better than issuing a watered-down resolution, recognizing Liz Tisdahl for her years of service on the City Council and her two terms as Mayor.  

Leave a comment
The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *