The members of Evanston’s 80th City Council had little difficulty this evening sorting out who to appoint to each of the dozen committess that have aldermen as members.

The appointments, made during the Rules Committee meeting, are:

Administration and Public Works Committee: Peter Braithwaite, 2nd Ward; Robin Rue Simmons, 5th Ward; Tom Suffredin, 6th Ward; Ann Rainey, 8th Ward, and Cicely Fleming, 9th Ward. 

Planning and Development Committee: Judy Fiske, 1st Ward; Melissa Wynne, 3rd Ward, Don Wilson, 4th Ward; Simmons; Suffredin; Eleanor Revelle, 7th Ward, and Rainey.

Human Services Committee: Fiske, Braithwaite, Rue Simmons, Revelle and Fleming.

Economic Development Committee: Braithwaite, Wynne, Wilson, Rue Simmons and Rainey.

Housing, Homelessness and Human Relations Committee: Revelle and Fleming.

Housing and Community Development Act Committee: Briathwaite, Wynne, Wilson, Rue Simmons and Rainey.

Lighthouse Landing Advisory Committee: Revelle.

Minority, Women and Evanston-Based Enterprises Committee: Braithwaite and Rue Simmons.

NU/City Committee: Fiske and Rue Simmons

Transportation Parking Committee: Wynne, Revelle and Fleming.

911 Committee: Wynne and Suffredin.

City-School Committee: Braithwaite and Fleming.

The committee also voted to name Mayor Steve Hagerty as the city’s representative to the Solid Waste Agency of Northern Cook County.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.