Members of the Democratic Party of Evanston voted Sunday to endorse Daniel Biss for governor in the March 20 primary election.

Biss, an Evanston resident, was the choice of 85 percent of those voting at the endorsement meeting, held at the Unitarian Church of Evanston.

“Tonight, Evanston Democrats voted to endorse someone we’ve seen up close and personal as our representative and senator, and who we know will make a great, progressive governor,” said Evanston Township Democratic Committeeman Eamon Kelly, who chaired the meeting. “Our grassroots members are fired up and ready to put in the work to nominate him on March 20.”

Finishing second and third in the gubernatorial vote were J.B. Pritzker at 7 percent and Chris Kennedy at 6 percent.

In addition to Biss, DPOE members voted to endorse Kelly Cassidy for re-election to the State House, Toni Preckwinkle for re-election as Cook County Board President, Larry Suffredin for re-election as Cook County Commissioner, and Debra Shore and Kari Steele for re-election to the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District.

In the eight-way race for Attorney General, the top vote getter was Nancy Rotering with 30 percent followed by Kwame Raoul with 23 percent. No candidate secured the 66 percent of the vote needed to earn the organization’s endorsement.

In the five-way race for State Representative in the 17th District, voters preferred Candance Chow with 49 percent of the vote. Mary Rita Luecke was second with 33 percent.

In county races, challenger Fritz Kaegi, at 52 percent was the top vote getter for assessor and incumbent Maria Pappas was the choice of 62 percent for treasurer.

Dan Coyne’s video of the DPOE meeting.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *