Eight seniors from Evanston Township High School have been named semifinalists for the 2015 National Achievement Scholarship Program, an academic competition established to provide recognition for outstanding Black American high school students.

The ETHS semifinalists are: Matthew G. Auston, Andrew O. Bempah, Larenz R. Brown, Jackie C. Colquitt, Michelle Y. Foster, Kai A. Joy, Austin J. Klopfer, and Logan Z. Stuart.

“We are proud of our National Achievement scholars. This is a prestigious honor for our students and for ETHS,” Superintendent Eric Witherspoon said. “These scholars exemplify how our students at ETHS are benefiting from the abundant educational opportunities here.”

About 1,600 high school students from across the U.S. are designated semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Semifinalists and their schools must submit a detailed scholarship application that demonstrates an outstanding academic record throughout high school and endorsement by a high school official.

Both the National Merit Scholarship and the National Achievement Scholarship programs are conducted concurrently but operated and funded separately.

Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for National Achievement Scholarships or corporate-sponsored Achievement Scholarships to be offered in 2015. To be considered for a National Achievement Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *