The Evanston Public Library invites submissions to the Thirty-Sixth Annual Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards, to be judged this year by Illinois Poet Laureate Kevin Stein.

The competition is open to all adult and high school age Chicago-area poets, and to all Evanston elementary and middle-school students.

The competition’s submission deadline is Friday, March 28. Prizes will be awarded at a program on Sunday, May 4, at 2 p.m. in the Evanston Public Library’s Community Meeting Room.

Full contest rules may be obtained at any Evanston Public Library location or by going to the library’s website.

Contest judge Kevin Stein is a prize-winning poet, critic, and editor. He has published eight poetry collections and is Caterpillar Professor of English at Bradley University, where he directs the Creative Writing Program.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *