The president and vice president of the Evanston Township High School District 202 Board were re-elected in its annual reorganization this week, but it also swore in a new member.

Re-elected president of the board was Pat Savage-Williams, who was first elected to the board in 2013 and has served as its president the last three years. Also re-elected was Monique Parsons as vice president. She has served on the board since 2015 and has been vice president the last two years.

Pete Bavis, Assistant Superintendent Curriculum & Instruction, was re-elected board secretary.
New on the board is its student representative, elected by the school’s student body to serve for a year to offer a student’s perspective to the board’s deliberations.
She is Phoebe Liccardo, who is heading into her senior year. She replaces Emma Stein, who will be graduating later this month and who has accepted admission to the freshman class at Northwestern University in the fall.
The student representative attends all meetings of the board, but does not have a vote.

 Emma Stein takes her farewell walk as she completes her term as student representative.

Stein was president this year of the Student Council and was instrumental in organizing the student walkout last month in support of gun control, for which she received a number of plaudits from the other board members as they praised her performance in their speeches of farewell.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *