Two teachers, two staff members, and a collaborative team at Evanston Township High School have received Those Who Excel awards from the Illinois State Board of Education.

The teachers are James Sklar, history, and Corey Winchester, history and social science.

The staff members are Martha Zarate-Ortega, ETHS social worker, and Midge Stocker, information services manager.

Also receiving recognition was a group of teachers known as the CARE team. That’s the acronym for the Collaborative Action Research for Equity Team, a group of volunteer educators who have collaborated to address the achievement gap and by sharing strategies and successes in working with students of color.

Each year, the ISBE honors exemplary teachers, administrators, student support personnel, educational service personnel, community volunteers, board members, and teams from school districts across the state.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *