Evanston’s Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl has won the top award for small cities in the Mayors’ Climate Protection Awards program sponsored by the U.S. Conference of Mayors.

The annual awards program in its fifth year recognizes mayors for innovative practices in their cities that increase energy efficiency and reduce greenhouse gas emissions. An independent panel of judges selected the winners from a pool of 130 applicants.

Conference President Elizabeth Kautz, the mayor of Burnsville, Minn., said, that under Tisdahl’s leadership Evanston “has embraced an ambitious plan to reduce carbon emissions in city operations by 13 percent by 2013.”

The winner in the large city category was Annise Parker of Houston, Texas.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.