First candidates file for city election

Four candidates for Evanston mayor and 11 for aldermen turned in nominating petitions this morning.

It was the first day the City Clerk’s office could accept completed petitions for next year’s municipal election.

Candidates have until next Monday to submit their petitions.

If more than four candidates for any office qualify for placement on the ballot, the city will need to hold a primary election in February for that position. Otherwise all the candidates be competing for votes only in the April general election.

The would-be mayors are Barnaby Dinges, Jeanne Lindwall, Stuart Opdycke and Elizabeth Tisdahl.

In the 1st Ward, incumbent Cheryl Wollin and challenger Judy Fiske both turned in their petitions this morning, as did Donald Wilson in the 4th Ward, incumbent Delores Holmes and challenger Adrian Dortch in the 5th Ward, Christopher Hart and Mark Sloane in the 6th Ward, Jane Grover and John Zbesko in the 7th ward, incumbent Ann Rainey in the 8th Ward, and Coleen Burrus in the 9th Ward.

Related story

City may see mayoral primary 

Editors’ Picks