Six incumbents and one new candidate filed nominating papers Monday, the first day to file for the eight positions to be filled on Evanston’s two school boards in next April’s election.

Filing for the Evanston/Skokie School District 65 board were incumbents Elisabeth Lindsay-Ryan, Soo La Kim and Joseph Hailpern. Hailpern finished fourth in a five-way race for four positions on the board in 2017. Lindsay-Ryan was appointed to the board in August 2019. Kim was appointed to the board last April.

The new candidate filing for District 65 was Marquise Weatherspoon. Weatherspoon is president of the Advocates for Action community group.

Filing for the Evanston Township High School District 202 board were Gretchen Livingston, Patricia Maunsell and Patricia Savage-Williams. Livingston was first elected to the board in 2009, Maunsell in 2017 and Savage-Williams in 2013.

Candidates have until 5 p.m. next Monday to file their nominating papers with the Cook County Clerk’s office.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *