One candidate is running unopposed for a partial term on the Evanston/Skokie School District 65, but there are seven candidates vieing for four regular four-year terms on the board, according to an update Tuesday morning from the Cook County Clerk’s office.

The two-year term would go to incumbent Anya Tanyavutti, who was appointed to the position in October to replace Jennifer Phillips, who resigned before the midpoint of her four-year term.

Two incumbents, Board President Candance Chow and Sunitha Kartha, are running for reelection, challenged by Nicholas Korzeniowski, Lindsay M. Cohen, Sergio Hernandez, Jr., Scott D. Fishman, and Joseph A. Hailpern. The top four vote-getters of that group will be declared winners of the four expiring four-year positions.

At Evanston Township High School District 202, there are six candidates for the four expiring four-year terms.  They include incumbents Board President Patricia Savage-Williams, Gretchen Livingston, and Anne Sills, and challengers Patricia Maunsell, Russell Kohnken, and Jude Laude.

The election will be held on April 4, 2017.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.