The Evanston Public Library has announced that the deadline for submissions to the 39th Annual Jo-Anne Hirshfield Memorial Poetry Awards competition is Monday, March 13.

The competition is open to all adult and high school age Chicago-area poets, and to all Evanston elementary and middle-school students.

Full contest rules and instructions for submissions may be obtained on the library’s website.

Prizes will be awarded at a program on Sunday, April 23, at 2 p.m. in the main library’s Community Meeting Room. Winners will be invited to read their poems at the event, which will also include a reading by the poetry judge.

Contest judge Susan T. Moss is the author of two poetry books and she is a former English teacher presently serving a third term as president of the Ilinois State Poetry Society. A former vice president of the Poetry Club of Chicago, Moss’ work has appeared in several journals and anthologies.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *