Incumbents seek to reup for school boards

All but one of the eight incumbents on Evanston’s two school boards whose terms expire next  April have taken initial steps towards seeking re-election. But there are citizens waiting in the wings to compete for their jobs.

The only holdout so far is Evanston/Skokie District 65 School Board member Jerome Summers, who has not yet made up his mind whether to challenge Fifth Ward Alderman Dolores Holmes for her spot on the Evanston City Council.

The other three District 65 incumbents, Tracy Quattrocki, Andrew Pigozzi, and Kim Weaver, have picked up their election packets from board secretary Pat Markham.

All four incumbents on the Evanston Township High School District 202 Board have taken that initial step toward re-election, according to William Stafford, secretary of the 202 Board. They are Deborah Graham, Gretchen Livingston, Rachel Hayman, and Martha Burns.

There are three challengers for the District 65 spots: Candance Parks Chow, Peter Kaplan, and Suni Kartha.

And there are five challengers for District 202: Elena Garcia Ansani, Andrew Bezaitis, Doug Holt, Patricia Savage, and Casey Miller.

The hopefuls are required to file their petitions with the respective district secretaries from Dec. 17 to Dec. 24. The election will be held on April 9, when members of the Evanston City Council will also be elected.


Charles Bartling

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio stations and business-oriented magazines.

Editors’ Picks