Incumbents seek to stay on D65 board


All three incumbent Evanston District 65 school board members whose seats are up for election next April filed petitions to retain their positions as the filing period opened Tuesday.

The candidates are:

  • Anya Tanyavutti, who’s seeking her first full term on the board after winning a two-year term in 2017 following her appointment in October 2016 to fill the remainder of Jennifer Phillips’ term,
  • Sergio Hernandez, who was appointed in January 2017 to fill the remainder of Richard Rykhus’ term, and
  • Rebecca Mendoza, who was appointed in August 2017 to fill the remainder of Omar Brown’s term.

The filing period continues through next Monday, Dec. 17.

With three board seats to be filled, if no other candidates file, the three incumbents will cruise to election without opposition.

Editors’ Picks