Legislative scholarships available

Eight one-year, full-tuition scholarships to Illinois state universities are available to residents of the 18th state house district through the office of State Representative Julie Hamos.

The scholarships are valid for either graduate or undergraduate studies and will be awarded to residents of the district who have demonstrated a commitment to community service and an interest in making positive contributions to the social, economic, cultural, and political life of the community and who have been accepted at the school they plan to attend. A scholarship advisory committee will guide the competition.

The application form is available online.

Completed applications must be received (not postmarked) no later than 5 p.m. on May 21 at the district office of Rep. Hamos at 820 Davis St. in Evanston.

The scholarship does not include room and board.

Scholarships are available for studies at the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana, Chicago, or Springfield; Chicago State University, Chicago; Eastern Illinois University, Charleston; Governor’s State University, Park Forest; Illinois State University, Normal; Northern Illinois University, DeKalb; Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago; Southern Illinois University, Carbondale or Edwardsville; Western Illinois University, Macomb.

Editors’ Picks