The list of candidates who’ve taken out petitions to run for Evanston alderman in next April’s election grew again this week.

As of mid-day today the list from the City Clerk’s office looked like this:

First Ward

Incumbent Cheryl Wollin and Judy Fiske, who lost to Wollin in 2005, are both running again.

Second Ward

Incumbent Lionel Jean-Baptiste has taken out petitions to seek a third term.

Third Ward

Incumbent Melissa Wynne is so far running unopposed, as she did in 2005.

Fourth Ward

Patrick Keenan-Devlin of 711 Washington St. has taken out petitions to replace the retiring Steve Bernstein.

Fifth Ward

No candidates have taken out petitions yet in the Fifth Ward, although incumbent Delores Holmes has not said she plans to retire.

Sixth Ward

Mark Sloane of 2512 Hartzell and Mark Tendam of 2448 Lincolnwood Drive have taken out petitions for what’s expected to be a challenge to incumbent Edmund Moran, although Moran hasn’t taken out petitions yet..

Tendam, a graphic designer and member of the city’s sign review board, is communications director for the Democratic Party of Evanston and is on the board of the McGaw YMCA. He finished second to Moran in a four-way race for the aldermanic job in 2005. His 2005 campaign website called for improved relations between the city and Northwestern University and opposed the so-called “canyonization” of Central Street.

Sloane is serving his second five-year term as a member of the city’s Playground and Recreation Board.

Seventh Ward

Four people now have taken out petitions to succeed Alderman Elizabeth Tisdahl in Evanston’s 7th Ward, who’s leaving her aldermanic post to run for mayor.

Candidates recently taking out petitions are Sandra Hill of 4 Martha Lane, Tony Schlax of 2733 Girard Ave. and John Zbesko of 1120 Noyes St. They join Jane Grover of 2703 Prairie Ave, who was first to declare for the race.

Zbesko is on the board of the Democratic Party of Evanston and has occasionally spoken at city meetings at which he has opposed adding more speed bumps to city streets, opposed efforts to prohibit beekeeping in Evanston, favored maintaining the existing Civic Center and favored construction of more office buildings downtown while opposing construction of the Fountain Square tower.

Hill formerly worked as director of Family Focus.

Eighth Ward

Incumbent Ann Rainey has taken out petitions to continue her long-time representation of the south end of town.

Ninth Ward

Plan Commissioner Coleen Burrus of 747 Dewey Ave. has taken out petitions for alderman. Burrus works at Northwestern University as associate director of foundation relations. One-term incumbent Anjena Hansen hasn’t indicated whether she plans to run again.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Join the Conversation


  1. Maybe I should run again?
    Okay, this is an exploratory statement. I ran in 1993 and picked the wrong time to do so. So maybe I should spice up the race this year and run again. Just thinking outloud.

  2. Further experience
    Thank you for the brief biography. I also serve as trustee of the North Shore Mosquito Abatement District, having been recommended for appointment by Commissioner Larry Suffredin in 2005. The NSMAD web site is at:

Leave a comment
The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.