Four more candidates have entered the race for City Council over the past several days, while one has dropped out.

As of late Tuesday, the list from the City Clerk’s office looked like this:

First Ward

Incumbent Cheryl Wollin and Judy Fiske, who lost to Wollin in 2005, are both running again.

Second Ward

Incumbent Lionel Jean-Baptiste has taken out petitions to seek a third term.

Third Ward

Incumbent Melissa Wynne is so far running unopposed, as she did in 2005.

Fourth Ward

Two more candidates, Susan Felts of 1117 Sherman Ave. and Donald Wilson of 1425 Main St., have taken out petitions They join Patrick Keenan-Devlin of 711 Washington St. in competing to replace the retiring Steve Bernstein.

Felts is a member of the city’s Sign Review and Appeals Board.

Fifth Ward

Incumbent Delores Holmes has taken out petitions to seek a second term.

Sixth Ward

Mark Sloane of 2512 Hartzell and Mark Tendam of 2448 Lincolnwood Drive have taken out petitions for what’s expected to be a challenge to incumbent Edmund Moran, although Moran hasn’t taken out petitions yet.

Tendam, a graphic designer and member of the city’s sign review board, is communications director for the Democratic Party of Evanston and is on the board of the McGaw YMCA. He finished second to Moran in a four-way race for the aldermanic job in 2005. His 2005 campaign website called for improved relations between the city and Northwestern University and opposed the so-called “canyonization” of Central Street.

Sloane is serving his second five-year term as a member of the city’s Playground and Recreation Board.

Seventh Ward

The crowded race to succeed Alderman Elizabeth Tisdahl in Evanston’s 7th Ward, who’s leaving her aldermanic post to run for mayor, has seen two changes.

Sandra Hill of 4 Martha Lane, the retired director of Family Focus, announced she’s withdrawing from the race. She said she decided it just wasn’t the right time for her to run. And Junad Rizki of 2784 Sheridan Road, who drew 23 percent of the vote running against Tisdahl in 2005, has decided to try again.

Others still in the race include Jane Grover of 2703 Prairie Ave, Tony Schlax of 2733 Girard Ave. and John Zbesko of 1120 Noyes St.

Eighth Ward

Incumbent Ann Rainey has taken out petitions to continue her long-time representation of the south end of town.

Ninth Ward

Plan Commissioner Coleen Burrus of 747 Dewey Ave. has taken out petitions for alderman. Burrus works at Northwestern University as associate director of foundation relations. One-term incumbent Anjena Hansen hasn’t indicated whether she plans to run again.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *