Porchlight Music Theatre’s New Faces Sing Broadway series returns, Monday, Feb. 24, with New Faces Sing Broadway NOW at SPACE, 1245 Chicago Ave. in Evanston.

Cory Goodrich, the star of Porchlight’s spring production, the Chicago premiere of Disney’s Freaky Friday, A New Musical, is the host of this 90-minute review taking audiences on a musical journey from start to finish of an entire Broadway season. The production is peppered with photos and films of that theatrical year in an exciting multimedia presentation, trivia games with prizes, sing-alongs and more.

In this edition, host Goodrich introduces the audience to the next generation of Chicago music theatre artists while serving as a guide to the stars, songs and stories of this current season on Broadway including songs from Hadestown, Moulin Rouge, Jagged Little Pill, TINA – The Tina Turner Musical and more. 

The cast of this year’s New Faces Sing Broadway NOW includes Emily Agy, Alli Atkenson, Barry DeBois, Laz Estrada, Nina Jayashankar, Becky Keeshin, Christopher Kelley, Michael E. Martin, Sam Shankman and Jayla Williams-Craig.

The original New Faces series via Broadway and movies was instrumental in introducing the public to emerging talent such as June Carroll, Robert Clary, Imogene Coca, Jane Connell, “Professor” Irwin Corey, Henry Fonda, Alice Ghostley, Ronny Graham, Tiger Haynes, Van Johnson, Madeline Kahn, Eartha Kitt, Robert Klein, Carol Lawrence, Paul Lynde, Virginia Martin, John Reardon, Maggie Smith, Inga Swenson and many, many others. 

Many artists who have been part of Porchlight’s New Faces Sing Broadway series in the past have continued their careers on television, local and even national stages.

Notable alums include Dawn Bless (Waitress-national tour), Katherine Bourne (Heartbreak Hotel), Kyrie Courter (Jeff nominee-Next to Normal), Gilbert Domally (Jeff nominee-The Total Bent), Andres Enriquez (Jeff nominee-A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder), Theo Germaine (Showtime’s “Work in Progress”), Lucy Godinez (Marriott Theatre’s Oliver), Emily Goldberg (Jeff nominee-A Gentleman’s Guide to Love and Murder), Nicole Michelle Haskins (The Goodman’s The Music Man), Michelle Lauto (Jeff winner-Spamilton), Yando Lopez (Jeff nominee-Spamilton), Henry McGinniss (Book of Mormon-national tour), Anthony Norman (The Prom-Broadway), Patrick Rooney (Les Miserables-national tour), Aalon Smith (Porchlight’s Gypsy), Katherine Thomas (Jeff winner-Ragtime), Aeriel Williams (Court’s Oedipus Rex) and Nicole Lambert, Courtney Mack, Mallory Maedke and Samantha Pauly (all heading to Broadway with Six).

On Monday, Feb. 24 at 7:30 p.m., New Faces Sing Broadway NOW, will be hosted in Evanston at SPACE, 1245 Chicago Ave. Single tickets to each New Faces are $37 and may be purchased at or by calling the Porchlight Music Theatre box office, 773.777.9884.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *