Foundation 65, the non-profit fundraising organization for Evanston/Skokie District 65 schools, has named Lee Cabot as the group’s new president.

Cabot has been the group’s treasurer since 2008.

Cabot succeeds Patty Barbato, who’s taking on a new role as leader of the foundation’s advisory committee.

The group’s executive director, Lise Jinno, says Barbato, who has been board president since 2007, helped bring strategic focus to the organization while broadening its reach by investing in programs that impact as many students as possible.

In those years the foundation has more than doubled its donor base and increased grant funds disbursed by 50 percent.

Other members of the advisory board include Walter Carlson, Lisa D’Angelo, Penelope Peterson, Robert Reece, Senator Jeffrey Schoenberg, Eugene Sunshine, Don Tarkington and Mayor Elizabeth Tisdahl.

Cabot earned an MBA from the Kellogg School of Management and has been an Evanston resident for more than 15 years.

The foundation has also added three new board members, Carolyn Castellini (Fundraising), Christyne Dzwierzynski (Co-Chair of Marketing and Communications) and Diane Lequar (Chair of Finance).

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *