Five historically and architecturally significant houses in southeast Evanston will be featured this year in the Evanston History Center’s annual Mothers Day House Walk on May 8.
EHC promises that each house has a fascinating story to tell of architectural development, the neighborhood, the Dawes family, and Evanston history.
Of special interest this year is that the entire National Historic Landmark Charles Gates Dawes House, including the third floor, along with the coach house on the property, will be open for viewing by the public.
The house, located at 225 Greenwood St., was the home of Dawes, who served as vice president of the United States during the Coolidge Administration, 1925 to 1929. It was the Dawes home from 1909 until his death in 1951. Today, it is the headquarters for the History Center.
The house walk will take place from noon until 5 p.m., rain or shine.
Tickets may be purchased online in advance for $40 or for $45 on the day of the walk. EHC members are entitled to a $5 discount.