Sunday, April 9, 2017, 3 pm
Pick-Staiger Hall
50 Arts Circle Drive, Evanston

Shostakovich/Zimmermann Chamber Symphony in F# minor (after String Quartet No. 7)
Dvorak Romance in F minor
Waxman Carmen Fantasy
Dvorak Symphony No. 9 in E minor (New World)

Gerhardt Zimmermann conductor
Robert Hanford violin

The final concert in our 2016-17 Love series explores the infinite diversity of love in all its forms. Antonin Dvorak’s Romance, featuring the Chicago Philharmonic’s own violinist Robert Hanford, evokes sweet moments of bliss in its glorious harmonies. Franz Waxman’s violin showpiece, bursting with technical fireworks, veers from passion to celebration to brutal revenge, all hallmarks of the opera Carmen. In the New World Symphony, Dvorak sings of patriotic love, for both his native Bohemia and his adopted homeland. And guest conductor Gerhardt Zimmermann presents the labor of his love: his own orchestral transcription of Dmitri Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 7, with its poignant depictions of love and loss.