McGaw YMCA volunteers honored at 131st annual meeting


From serving on the board to mentoring youth, McGaw YMCA volunteers were recognized for outstanding contributions last week during the organization's 131st annual meeting.

Three volunteers received Volunteer of the Year honors:

  • Joe Moos focuses his efforts on helping address the achievement gap for Evanston students by volunteering as a Reading Buddy for the summer learning program Y Readers, and serving as a reading tutor Y Achievers, McGaw YMCA’s college readiness program for high school students. Joe assists wherever help is needed, and has volunteered at numerous McGaw Y events, including the Youth Triathlon and the construction of a new playground at the McGaw YMCA Children’s Center.
  • Anne Walker has dedicated much of her sabbatical from her career in the corporate world to teaching art at the Children’s Center. Anne uses her artistic expertise to plan age-appropriate lessons for five different after-school classes, aligning her instruction with Evanston/Skokie District 65 curriculum. By utilizing a variety of themes and mediums, Anne has significantly increased the quality and depth of art enrichment for the Children’s Center School’s Out after-school program.
  • Brian Becharas has volunteered almost 2,000 hours in the past four decades, and he has no signs of stopping. Brian describes his formative years spent as a camper and staff member at Camp Echo as transformational, and as an adult has served on the Camp Echo Committee, assisted with facility planning, and attended countless Camp Echo work weekends. Brian recently donated a planned gift as a member of McGaw YMCA’s Aiken-Talley Society.

McGaw YMCA’s Alice Kreiman Board Leadership Award was given to Freddi Greenberg, who served on the McGaw YMCA Board of Directors for a total of 14 years. The award honors an outstanding female leader who has been a recognized leader in the McGaw YMCA, as well as in other Evanston nonprofit organizations. All of the past Alice Kreiman award winners were in attendance to celebrate her honor.

The annual meeting also recognized Dan Israelite, who stepped down after serving as McGaw YMCA’s youngest-ever board chair, and Gilo Kwesi Logan, who served on the board for three years.

Editors’ Picks