Celebrate the conclusion of another sparkling season with an innovative blend of new and familiar works, from a popular classic to an exciting world premiere. Darius Milhaud reimagines the Biblical tale of Jacob and his fantastic dreams, and Chicago-based composer Sebastian Huydts, whose lyrical and accessible work captivated Rembrandt’s audiences in 2015, debuts a new trio inspired by symbolist poetry. Poulenc, a master of embodying Gallic wit and élan in music, captures the spirit of the flute, from sensuous to vivacious, in this pairing with piano. The evening concludes with a classic string trio by Beethoven.
MILHAUD: The Dreams of Jacob for oboe, violin, viola, cello, and bass
BEETHOVEN: String Trio in C minor, Op. 9, no. 3
POULENC: Sonata for flute and piano
HUYDTS: Trio for oboe, viola, and piano (World Premiere)

  • Lawrence Neuman, viola
  • Ian Hallas, bass


  • Sunday, May 21, 7:30pm                                                                                                    
  • Nichols Concert Hall – Music Institute of Chicago 1490 Chicago Ave., Evanston


  • $38 general, $10 students
  • Buy online: http://squ.re/2pjsAB9
  • Buy by phone: 872-395-1754
  • Email: rembrandtchamberplayers@gmail.com