Tie for outstanding PTA volunteer award

Jenni Suvari, a Washington and Nichols parent, and Diane Lequar, a Dewey and ETHS parent, were named recipients of the Phyllis Ganser Outstanding PTA Volunteer of the Year Award, now in its 16th year.

Other nominees were Liz Brieva, a Kingsley parent; Dan Chow, a Kingsley and Haven parent; Michele and Jason Hays, Chute parents; Sarah Laing, a Lincoln School parent; Jane McCarthy, an ETHS and Haven parent; and Debbie Price, a Chute parent.

The Phyllis Ganser Outstanding PTA Volunteer of the Year Award was established by the Evanston/Skokie Council of PTAs to honor the life of Ganser, a devoted volunteer at Walker School. Ganser attended Evanston/Skokie schools and was the mother of three children who attended Walker, Chute and ETHS.

Until her death in January 2000, Phyllis was a tireless PTA volunteer who set a high standard for dedication to our community of children.













Editors’ Picks