Winter Chamber Music Festival – Jennifer Koh: Shared Madness


Special two-concert event 

“Jennifer Koh is a risk-taking, high-octane player of the kind who grabs the listener by the ears and refuses to let go,” declares the Strad, praising her “beguilingly silvery tone, fabulous technique, and dead center intonation.” Koh is Musical America’s 2016 Instrumentalist of the Year, a Concert Artists Guild Competition winner, and an Avery Fisher Career Grant recipient. Exploring the relationship between composer and performer and between violinist and instrument, her spellbinding new two-part program “Shared Madness” consists of 24 specially commissioned caprices inspired by those of Paganini. The living composers represented include Samuel Adams, Philip Glass, John Harbison, David Lang, Kaija Saariaho, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Augusta Read Thomas, and Julia Wolfe.

Sunday, January 28, 3 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. 
Pick-Staiger Concert Hall 
General public: $50 for both performances, or $30 for one performance 
Students: $10 for each performance 

Editors’ Picks