As the 5 p.m. Monday deadline drew near for candidates to file for election to Evanston’s two public school boards, one incumbent was possibly going to run without competition.

That was Anya Tanyavutti, who joined the Evanston/Skokie School District 65 Board this year to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Jennifer Phillips, who quit because she was planning to move from the district.

Because there are only two years left in that term, if Tanyavutti succeeds in winning election, her term will expire in 2019.

The other school board incumbents were not so lucky.

As of late Friday, there were seven candidates to fill the four seats up for election in District 65 and six candidates for the four seats on the Evanston Township High School 202 Board.

The candidates for District 65 include incumbents Candance Chow and Sunith Kartha and newcomers Nicolas Korzeniowski, Lindsay Cohen, Sergio Hernandez, Scott D. Fishman, and Joseph A. Hailpern.

District 202 candidates for the four contested seats in that district include incumbents Anne Sills, Gretchen Livingston, and Pat Savage-Williams and challengers Russell Kohnken, Jude Laude, and Patricia Maunsell.

There could still be more candidates in each district, as filing officially closes at 5 p.m. Monday, and it may take a day or so for the Cook County Clerk’s office to update the final list.

The election will be held April 4 and will include positions in city government, including the mayor, city clerk, and all nine members of the City Council.

Charles Bartling

A resident of Evanston since 1975, Chuck Bartling holds a master’s degree in journalism from Northwestern University and has extensive experience as a reporter and editor for daily newspapers, radio...

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *