The winning entries in the 2010 Faces of Evanston Photography contest were honored at a reception at the Noyes Cultural Center Thursday night.

The winning entries in the 2010 Faces of Evanston Photography contest were honored at a reception at the Noyes Cultural Center Thursday night.

Theme Spirit Award winner Anthony Icuzzi is flanked by Kiwanis president Dr. Stamata Blanas and incoming Kiwanis president Jim Wolinski.

Music provided by a quartet from the Evanston Symphony Orchestra, food by Cathy Kozlarek and Margi Hazlett of Coldwell Banker and auction items from a number of Evanston and North Shore businesses made for a festive event.

This is the sixth year of the Faces of Evanston contest which is sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Evanston. After two weeks on display at the Noyes Cultural Center, 927 Noyes St., the photos move to First Bank & Trust, 820 Church St., and begin a year long tour of Evanston venues. The photo viewing is free and open to the public.

Dr. Stamata Blanas, the outgoing president of Kiwanis and the originator of the contest, announced two new changes for next year’s contest. “We have decided to drop the fee for entry, hoping that will encourage those who pursue photo taking as a hobby and new enthusiasts to enter. In addition, we are adding a video component to the contest which should be attractive to still another group,” Blanas explained.

Winning entries include:

  • Warren Friedman with (Untitled) from the Fountain Square Arts Festival, $250 1st prize
  • Paulina Lopez, Determined to Take Flight, $100 2nd prize
  • Jennifer Schuman, Our Friend and Jennifer Frankfurter, Legacy of Friendship, $50 each, tie
  • Anthony Icuzzi, Evanston Light House Beach Sand, Theme Spirit Award, $50 prize
  • Voice of the People Award, Barbara Seyfried,  Historical Fountain in the Evanston Rose Garden

Honorable mention winners included:

  • Julie Cowan, Youth
  • John Blades, Break Time
  • Misti Henderson, To be continued
  • Paulina Lopez, Bright Future
  • Ankita Gotet, Waiting for the L
  • Bridget Saunders, Running Late
  • Paul Whittaker, Late Summer
  • Jennifer Schuman, Little Mr.Sunshine and Stepping Stones
  • Laurie Werner, Change in the World and Friendly Face
  • Jennifer Frankfurter, In the Company of Eras
  • Asia Jean Sageman, Quench
  • Hallie Redman, Public Art
  • Rachel Duff, In Studio
  • Joe Simchak, Evanston’s Everyday Heroes
  • Peg O’Rourke, Steel Guitar
  • Mickey Propadovich, Weary Tunnel and Against All Odds

Judges included Dino Robinson of Robinson Design, Chris Schnebeck, Perspectives Gallery, Mark Thomas, Evanston photographer and Norah Delaney, Executive Director, Evanston Art Center.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published.