ComEd is reporting service outages affecting several hundred customers this morning in southwest sections of Evanston.

The outages reportedly began about 8:30 this morning and ComEd has projected that it will have service restored before noon.

The areas affected include portions of the city west of Dodge Avenue and south of Main Street and some areas between Dodge and Asbury avenues south of Oakton Street.

Update 1:40 p.m.: All customers affected by the outage reportedly now have had power restored. A contractor working near Oakton Street and McCormick Boulevard reportedly caused the problem.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Join the Conversation


  1. District 202 Election April 9

    A very important election is occurring on April 9 (early voting starts on March 25).  Eight candidates are running for 4 positions on the District 202 Board.

    I served on the 202 Board for 20 years as a member and as President.  From that perspective, I am recommending that you vote for 4 of these candidates.

    These are people who care deeply about the future of our high school and want to maintain the  excellence that we in Evanston/Skokie treasure and that has made ETHS one of the premier high schools in the U.S.  In addition, they will not make major decisions without proper research and evaluation.

    The 4 candidates I support are:

    Andy Bezaitis:

    Deborah Graham:

    Doug Holt;

    Gretchen Livingston:

    Please check out these websites to familiarize yourself with the candidates.

    And please remember to vote.  Every vote is important in this crucial election.

    — Margaret Lurie

    1. Only two worthy of votes – Holt and Bezaitis

      We will only vote for two candidates – Holt and Bezaitis.

      All the others support PEG and detracking freshmen honor courses and incumbents Livingston and Graham voted for detracking freshmen honors and to fund PEG.

      1. Vote Graham too

        I am voting for Holt and Bezaitis. But I suport Graham too. She and Baum were the only Board members to vote against expanding the freshman de-tracking beyond one class. Remember that all of the other candidates (Livingston waffles) would vote to extend detracking to the sophomore year (and perhaps beyond). So voting for Holt and Bezaitis is not enough. If only two opponents to de-tracking get elected, a majority of the board (including holdovers Haymen and Metz) will continue on this misguided course.

Leave a comment
The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *