The Illinois Municipal Retirement Fund, the best-funded and second-largest public pension plan in the state again has two Evanstonians on its board this year.

Employee Trustee Natalie Copper, a school-age child care site coordinator at Dawes Elementary School District 65, moved up to president of the IMRF board of trustees.

Copper, an Evanston resident, served as vice president last year and secretary in 2012.

The board also appointed Evanston resident William Stafford — last year’s IMRF board president — to fill a board vacancy. Stafford, whose original term expired at year’s end, will now have another year on the board.

IMRF administers a plan of retirement, disability and death benefits for nearly 3,000 municipal employers—including towns and villages, libraries and park districts, and counties and school districts (non-teaching personnel)—and covers about 400,000 members and retirees.  At the end of 2013, IMRF had more than $33 billion in assets and was 96 percent funded. IMRF does not receive any state funding.

Members of IMRF’s independent eight-member board of trustees serve without compensation in five-year staggered terms. The board includes four executive trustees elected by participating units of government, three employee trustees elected by participating IMRF members and one annuitant trustee elected by IMRF retirees.

A full list of IMRF trustees is available online.

Bill Smith is the editor and publisher of Evanston Now.

Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *