Quantcast

Time to register to vote

vote-630x355

It's time for Evanston residents who aren't registered to vote or have moved since the last time they voted to sign up to participate in the March 15 presidential primary election.

Several civic groups have formed a Voter Participation Action Coalition to hold voter registration events around town before the regular registration deadline, Feb. 16.

The groups include the League of Women Voters of Evanston, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Latino Resources, Northwestern University, Organization for Positive Action in Leadership, the North Shore branch of the NAACP and the YWCA Evanston/North Shore.

VPAC organizations are certified by the State of Illinois Board of Elections to register voters and have members trained as deputy registrars by the Cook County Clerk’s office.

Voter registration events will be held:

  • Wednesday, Jan. 20, at the Fleetwood-Jourdain Community Center, 1655 Foster St., from 1 to 3 p.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 22, at the Levy Senior Center, 300 Dodge Ave., from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Jan. 26, at Starbucks, 1734 Sherman Ave., from 9 to 11 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Jan 27, at the Fleetwood-Jourdain Community Center, 1655 Foster St., from 1 to 3 p.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 29, at the Levy Senior Center, 300 Dodge Ave., from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Jan. 30, at the McGaw YMCA, 1000 Grove St., from 9 a.m. to noon.
  • Saturday, Jan. 30, at Valli Produce, 1910 Dempster St., from 9 a.m. to noon.
  • Tuesday, Feb. 2, at Starbucks, 1734 Sherman Ave., from 2 to 4 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Feb. 3, at the Fleetwood-Jourdain Community Center, 1655 Foster St., from 1 to 3 p.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 4, at Starbucks, 1901 Dempster St., from 7 to 11 a.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 5 at the Levy Senior Center, 300 Dodge Ave., from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Feb. 6, at the McGaw YMCA, 1000 Grove St., from 9 a.m. to noon.
  • Sunday Feb. 7, at St. Nicholas Church, 806 Ridge Ave, from 2 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Feb. 10, at Starbucks, 1901 Dempster St., from 7 to 11 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Feb. 10, at the Fleetwood-Jourdain Community Center, 1655 Foster St., from 1 to 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday Feb. 10, at the Evanston Township High School junior/senior lunch room, 1600 Dodge Ave., from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 12, at the Levy Senior Center, 300 Dodge Ave., from 1:30 to 3:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Feb. 15, at the Evanston History Center, 225 Greenwood St., from 3 to 6 p.m.

Residents can also register weekdays from 8:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. at the City Clerk’s office in the Morton Civic Center, 2100 Ridge Ave., and online registration is also available.

Editors’ Picks