Evanston/Skokie School District 65 recently kicked off a new program that recognizes staff members who are exceptional. 

There were almost 60 nominations in the first month of the High-Five program and two winners were chosen. They were honored at Monday night’s board meeting.

Margaret Rothe and Sarah Warren, with Board President Suni Kartha and Superintendent Paul Goren

Margaret Rothe, a social worker at Nichols School, was chosen after the district received a glowing letter from psychologist Sarah Warren. Warren says Rothe demonstrates an extraordinary amount of personal care for her students with round-the-clock support.  She is known to call in evenings and weekends to check up on students and even drops by their homes in the summer to touch base.

Rothe has worked in the district for 25 years.

Sonya Werner and Shannon Boatwright with Kartha and Goren.

The second honoree is Sonya Werner, a teacher assistant at the Joseph Hill Center.  Her recommendation came from a co-worker, Shannon Boatwright, who says Moulton comes to school every day ready to love and care for the children and consistently goes above and beyond to help her young students and colleagues. 

Both recipients get a $75 Visa gift card and will join future honorees at a special luncheon in May.


Leave a comment

The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *