Voters to narrow the mayoral field today


Evanston voters will winnow the field of candidates for mayor and 5th Ward aldermen when they go to the polls today for the primary election.

In the mayoral primary, thanks to provisions of a 1992 referendum, if one of the five candidates gets more than 50 percent of the vote he’ll be declared the city’s new mayor without a runnoff. Otherwise, the two top finishers will face off in the April 4 general election.

Observers generally believe that only businessman Steve Hagerty has any chance of hitting the 50 percent mark in the primary, while the other four candidates — aldermen Brian Miller and Mark Tendam, attorney Jeff Smith and former township supervisor Gary Gaspard — are hoping to make it into a runnoff.

In the 5th Ward race, the winner-take-all rule doesn’t apply and the two top finishers will go on to the general election.

Candidates in the 5th Ward are Daniel Featherson, Carolyn Murray, Robin Rue, Carlis Sutton and Misty Witenberg.

If you’re not sure where your voting precinct is, you can check the location online. The polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

We’ll have election results later this evening.

Editors’ Picks