Wollin loses council seat

Evanston aldermanic races Tuesday included one upset of an incumbent alderman.

In the rematch between Cheryl Wollin and Judy Fiske, Fiske defeated the incumbent by 649 votes to 388 votes with results from all six precincts counted.

In the 4th Ward Donald Wilson was clearly the victor with 421 votes to 225 for Elliott Dudnik and 198 for Howard Hartenstein with 6 of 7 precincts counted.

In the 5th Ward incumbend Delores Holmes easily defeated challenger Adrian Dortch 473 to 154 with results in from all seven precincts.

In the 6th Ward Mark Tendam had a commanding lead over the two other competitors for the open seat. Tendam had 803 votes to 634 for Mark Sloane and 458 for Christopher Hart with 9 of 10 precincts counted.

In the 7th Ward Jane Grover won a clear majority over two challengers. With 7 of 9 precincts counted Grovber had 687 votes to 302 for John Zbesko and 97 for Kevin O’Connor.

And in the 9th Ward Coleen Burrus handily defeated two opponents. With all 7 precincts counted Burrus had 59 percent — 713 votes to 334 for Mimi Peterson and 154 for Michael Drennan.

But the largest margin of the night went to Bonnie Wilson who defeated incumbent township assessor Sharon Eckersall. Wilson took nearly 72 percent of the vote. With 64 of 70 precincts counted it was Wilson 5512 votes to 2160 for Eckersall.

Editors’ Picks