The City of Evanston has announced appointment of a dozen teens to the city’s newly formed Youth Council.

Youth Council members
Youth Council members are, seated from left, Daniel Cohen, Luis A. Herrera and Antony Noria and, standing from left, Jacqueline Newsome, Courtney Reneé Harris, Ebony Brown, Ross Donnan, Kandice Dean, Sara Pitt, Jhannelle Harrison, Gabby Rosenberg and Vidur Sood.

The city’s youth coordinator, Sol Anderson, says the council will represent the foice for youth in Evanston, helping to develop a better community for young people, representing a youth perspective to City Council and staff. He says they will identify major issues, challenges and solutions concerning youth and learn leadership and advocacy skills to bring about change in the community.

To find out more about the Youth Council or to find out how you can get involved, contact Anderson at or (847) 448-8049.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. Does the Youth Council represent the youth that need help?
    In looking at the photo and reading the names of the members – on the youth council it appears to me that there are no black males on the youth council? It appears two of the males are Hispanic the other one white? I find this interesting since a large number of black males are in trouble here. It is no secret ETHS is failing under NCLB – since the black students are failing. While this is not a fact the city likes to discuss, Evanston has had a very high arrest rate of black males – under a FIR I filed years ago the police were arresting about 1 black male out of 3 to 4 on a population basis of all adult black males in town. (1998). White males were about 1 to 30.

    So it appears to me the youth council membership does not have the group in most need of support even represented. Thus this just another example of our tax dollars wasted. ($100,000 plus)

Leave a comment
The goal of our comment policy is to make the comments section a vibrant yet civil space. Treat each other with respect — even the people you disagree with. Whenever possible, provide links to credible documentary evidence to back up your factual claims.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *